Mar 25, 2012
Below is a list of California state penalties dealing with marijuana, known as pot, grass, Columbian, homegrown, reefer, green, doobie, ganja, herb, weed, cannabis, Mary Jane, skunk, Mother Nature, Humboldt, chronic, Mexican dirt weed, smoke, herbal refreshment, Thai stick, or a joint --- depending on which generation you're from.
CALIFORNIA MARIJUANA PENALTIES
Possession of Marijuana
- 28.5 g or less - Infraction - $100 fine
- More than 28.5 g - Misdemeanor - 6 months jail - $500 fine
- 28.5 g or less on school grounds by a minor while school is in session - Misdemeanor - 10 days jail - $250 fine
- More than 28.5 g on school grounds while school is in session - Misdemeanor - 6 months jail - $500 fine
- Any amount - Felony - 16 to 36 months prison (Patients or caregivers may be given exceptions.)
- Gift of less than 28.5 g - Misdemeanor - $100 fine
- Any amount - Felony - 2 to 4 years prison
- Any amount to a minor over 14 years old - Felony - 3 to 5 years prison
- Any amount to a minor under 14 years old (selling, employing, distributing, inducing or offering) - Felony - 3 to 7 years prison
- Civil fine of $200 to $300 for the first offense. The fine increases to $5,000 to $6,000 for a fifth or subsequent violation within a 5-year period.
Visit the following link for a list of California cities' and counties' marijuana guidelines.
M A R I J U A N A